About

Science describes accurately from outside, poetry describes accurately from inside. Science explicates, poetry implicates. Both celebrate what they describe.

Ursula K. Le Guin, author

Mission statement

Established in 2015, Théâtre du Renard is a performing arts company that carries out a variety of projects, predominantly in object theater. Our work targets a diversity of audiences, from youth to teens to adults.

Théâtre du Renard's mission is to convey specialized knowledge from fields such as science, economics and philosophy to its audience. The company's clever approach uses the power of images, poetry and humor to make complex ideas accessible and interesting to all.

 

The company is a member of ELAN Quebec, the Association québécoise des marionnettistes (AQM) and the Regroupement des Arts de Rue du Québec (RAR).

Vision

Théâtre du Renard takes its name from the character of the Fox in Antoine de Saint-Exupéry's The Little Prince. Like the Fox, the company invites its audience to get acquainted with new experiences : hybrid and transdisciplinary theatrical forms, topics rarely explored on stage, new relationships between artists and audience.

Science allows us to delve into relatively uncharted artistic territory and explore ideas that seldom take center stage with general audiences. Science proposes a new point of view that enriches an audience's sensibility. For us, the goal of art is neither to convince, nor to sell, nor to give answers. To make art is to question, to challenge our own perspectives, to evoke, to inspire. This is its greatest power: it opens us up to new realities, thereby transforming us. What better ally in this than science, an exploration led by human curiosity from which new questions are constantly arising?


We wish to use our role as artists to turn scientific discoveries into inspiring stories of exploration.

Why a fox?

The company's name was inspired by the character of the Fox in Antoine de Saint-Exupéry's The Little Prince. As the Fox does, we invite our audience to discover new performer-audience relationships and innovative interdisciplinary scenic forms, often presented in non-theatrical or intimate venues.

Like the Fox who asks to be tamed, our theatre wants to create an encounter between the ideas that have changed the world and the general public, thereby making great historical currents and heroic figures apprehensible.

"I cannot play with you," the fox said. "I am not tamed."

"Ah! Please excuse me," said the little prince.

But, after some thought, he added:

"What does that mean--'tame'?"

"It is an act too often neglected," said the fox. It means to establish ties."

"'To establish ties'?"

"Just that," said the fox. "To me, you are still nothing more than a little boy who is just like a hundred thousand other little boys. And I have no need of you. And you, on your part, have no need of me. To you, I am nothing more than a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world . . ."

Le Petit Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

History

Since its beginnings, the company's artistic work has been recognized by awards for its shows as well as by the allocation of creation grants to its director and founder, Antonia Leney-Granger.

Since 2017, Théâtre du Renard has been supported by Théâtre de la Pire Espèce, pioneers of object theater in Quebec, who have recognized the quality of the company's artistic work. This support takes the form of artistic mentorship on creations, as well as occasional financial and logistical support via the Accueil-éclair program at Théâtre Aux Écuries.

The quality of the company's projects based on scientific knowledge has also attracted the attention of renowned organizations and researchers in the scientific sector: Espace pour la vie and Acfas are amongst its partners.

Achievements

2018-2023

La rébellion du minuscule (in creation)

 

  • Antonia Leney-Granger, director of the company, receives two CALQ grants from for the research and creation of this project

  • Creation residencies : Maison de la Culture Côte-des-Neiges, Maison de la Culture Rosemont-La-Petite-Patrie

  • Presentation of a creation site during the Rencontre Théâtre Ados (2021)

  • Presentation of the project at the  Café-causerie of the Festival Casteliers (2020)

  • Presentation of a work in progress : Festival Phénomena (2019)

2018-2019

15 minutes de physique quantique (creation and tour)

 

  • Festival Marionnettes Plein la Rue (Verdun)

  • Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes (Charleville-Mézières, France)

 

2015-2019

A brief history of time (creation and tour)

 

  • Accès Culture network and specialized festivals (Montréal, Québec, Trois-Rivières)

  • The show received the  2 touring theatre awards during the Festival Vue sur la Relève (2019), given by the Maison de la Culture Villebon de Beloeil and Borough of Saint-Laurent (Accès Culture)

  • In 2019, le show was translated into English and had a sold-out run at Montreal's Fringe Festival

 

2015

  • Foundation of the company

  • Start of outreach activities. Main partners : Rencontre Théâtre Ados, Maison de la Culture Côte-des-Neiges

 

Art-science networking and other activities

Participation in various colloquiums and round tables on transdisciplinary artistic work.

 

  • ACS Congress April 2019

  • CommSciConQc June 2020

  • CRICLQ Congress March 2021

 

Organization of a series of conferences and networking activities between artists and scientists, the Labos du Renard, in partnership with the Maison de la Culture Côte-des-Neiges.

 

  • When art meets science (February 2020)

  • Ecological Transition - Creating new narratives that lead to action (September 2020)

Team

HAYEUR-8680-modif.jpg

Antonia Leney-Granger

Artistic Direction

Antonia Leney-Granger is a Montreal-based puppeteer, director and educator specializing in object theatre to make complex ideas accessible and fun. She received a CALQ grant in 2019 for a research/creation project on quantum physics and object theatre.

 

Antonia also works as an educator in puppetry for children and teens, artistic collaborator and assistant director for a few Canadian companies (Théâtre de la Pire Espèce, Belzébrute, Théâtre de la Petite Marée, Libre course, Rencontre Théâtre Ados).

 

She is very involved in Québec's vibrant puppet community : she was part of the direction committee of Festival Ouf! Off Casteliers, and sits on the board of the Association Québécoise des Marionnettistes (AQM). 

Partners

Board of Directors

President of the board
Daniel Granger, L.LL., MBA, ARP, FSCRP, C.M.

President, ACJ Communication

Secretary

Marco Patriarco, L.LL.

Consultant

Treasurer

Samuel Dubois

Architect, MOAQ

Stella Leney, Ad.E, IAS.A

Lawyer and Aministrator


Antonia Leney-Granger

Artistic Director, Théâtre du Renard

Calq_noir.gif
LcMoKzeW_400x400.jpg
logoGauche.png.jpeg
Logo-RTA-jpeg.jpg
culture_ecole.gif
cropped-2018-PWM-logo_web.png
elan-1.png

À propos

Mission

Fondé en 2015, le Théâtre du Renard est une compagnie de création artistique qui mène une diversité de projets, principalement en théâtre d'objets. Les spectacles s'adressent parfois au jeune public, au public adolescent ou aux adultes.

Le Théâtre du Renard s'est donné pour mission de transmettre à son public des savoirs provenant de domaines spécialisés tels que la science, l'économie ou la philosophie. La compagnie manie habilement la poésie et l'humour afin de rendre des idées complexes accessibles et intéressantes pour tous.

Le Théâtre du Renard est membre de l'Association québécoise des marionnettistes (AQM), du Regroupement des Arts de Rue du Québec (RAR) et d'ELAN Quebec.

Vision

Le Théâtre du Renard tire son nom du personnage du Renard dans Le Petit Prince, d'Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. Comme le Renard, la compagnie invite son public à l’apprivoisement : celui de formes théâtrales hybrides et décloisonnées, de sujets rarement abordés sur scène, de nouveaux rapports entre artistes et spectateurs. 

La science permet d’explorer des terrains artistiques peu défrichés. Elle est un vecteur pour enrichir la sensibilité du public. Pour nous, le but de l’art n’est pas de convaincre, de vendre, de donner des réponses. L’art s’affaire plutôt à questionner, à faire vaciller nos certitudes, à évoquer, à inspirer. C’est son plus grand pouvoir : nous ouvrir à des réalités nouvelles, et par cela nous transformer. Quelle meilleure alliée pour cela que la science, cette exploration guidée par la curiosité humaine d’où émergent sans cesse de nouvelles questions?


Nous désirons nous servir de notre rôle d’artistes afin de faire des découvertes scientifiques des récits d’explorations sensibles.

Pourquoi un renard?
Historique

Depuis ses débuts, le travail artistique de la compagnie est reconnu par l'obtention de prix pour ses spectacles ainsi que par l'octroi de bourses de création à sa directrice, Antonia Leney-Granger.

 

Depuis 2017, le Théâtre du Renard est soutenu par le Théâtre de la Pire Espèce, pionniers du théâtre d'objets au Québec, qui ont reconnu la qualité du travail artistique de la compagnie. Ce soutien prend la forme de mentorat artistique sur les créations, ainsi que de soutien financier et logistique ponctuel via le programme Accueil-éclair du Théâtre Aux Écuries.

La qualité de ses projets autour des savoirs scientifiques attire aussi l'attention d'organismes et de chercheurs réputés du secteur scientifique: Espace pour la vie et l'Acfas sont au nombre de ses partenaires.

Faits saillants

 

2018-2023

La rébellion du minuscule (en création)

 

  • Antonia Leney-Granger, directrice de la compagnie, obtient deux bourses du CALQ pour la recherche-création entourant ce projet

  • Résidences de création : Maison de la Culture Côte-des-Neiges, Maison de la Culture Rosemont-La-Petite-Patrie

  • Présentation d'un chantier de création lors du festival Rencontre Théâtre Ados (2021)

  • Présentation du projet au Café-causerie du Festival Casteliers (2020)

  • Diffusion d'une étape de travail : Festival Phénomena (2019)

2018-2019

15 minutes de physique quantique (création et diffusion)

 

  • Festival Marionnettes Plein la Rue (Verdun)

  • Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes (Charleville-Mézières, France)

 

2015-2019

Une brève histoire du temps (création et diffusion)

 

  • Réseau Accès Culture et festivals spécialisés (Montréal, Québec, Trois-Rivières)

  • Le spectacle a reçu les 2 prix de diffusion en théâtre lors du Festival Vue sur la Relève (2019), remis par la Maison de la Culture Villebon de Beloeil et l'Arrondissement Saint-Laurent (Accès Culture)

 

2015

  • Fondation de la compagnie

  • Début des activités de médiation culturelle. Partenaires principaux : Rencontre Théâtre Ados, Maison de la Culture Côte-des-Neiges

 

Activités connexes et maillage art-science

Participation à divers colloques et tables rondes sur le travail artistique transdisciplinaire.

 

  • Colloque ACS avril 2019

  • CommSciConQc juin 2020

  • Colloque du CRICLQ mars 2021

 

Organisation d'une série de conférence et d'activités de rencontre entre artistes et scientifiques, les Labos du Renard, en partenariat avec la Maison de la Culture Côte-des-Neiges.

 

  • Quand l'art rencontre la science (février 2020)

  • Transition écologique - Créer de nouveaux récits qui mènent à l'action (septembre 2020)

Direction générale et artistique

Antonia Leney-Granger

Antonia Leney-Granger est une artiste et pédagogue montréalaise spécialisée dans le théâtre d’objets et la création transdisciplinaire, notamment les ponts entre l’art et la science. Sa curiosité insatiable est le point de départ de chacune de ses créations, qui explorent la transmission du savoir de manière ludique et poétique : astrophysique, physique quantique, écologie, économie, philosophie, etc.

 

Antonia développe des partenariats entre des artistes et des organismes des secteurs culturels et scientifiques, notamment par l’organisation de soirées-conférence et d’événements de maillage entre artistes et scientifiques.

 

Elle œuvre aussi comme médiatrice culturelle auprès des enfants et des adultes, ainsi que comme collaboratrice pour plusieurs compagnies théâtrales (Théâtre de la Pire Espèce, Belzébrute, Théâtre de la Petite Marée, Libre course, Rencontre Théâtre Ados, Maison Théâtre).

 

Depuis 2021, elle est chroniqueuse Art-Science à la radio de CHOQ.ca pour l’émission Rien ne se perd, rien ne se crée.

 

Très impliquée dans son milieu, Antonia siège au conseil d'administration de l'Association Québécoise des Marionnettistes (AQM) et d’UNIMA-Canada.

Partenaires

Conseil d'administration

Président du conseil
Daniel Granger, L.LL., MBA, ARP, FSCRP, C.M.

Président, ACJ Communication

Secrétaire

Marco Patriarco, L.LL.

Consultant, Brio

Trésorier
Samuel Dubois, MOAQ

Architecte et candidat au doctorat, MIT


Stella Leney, Ad.E, IAS.A

Avocate et administratrice de sociétés


Antonia Leney-Granger

Directrice artistique, Théâtre du Renard

  • Twitter
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

© 2020 par Théâtre du Renard