A Brief History of Time

Inspired by the work of astrophysicist and science popularizer Stephen Hawking, Théâtre du Renard presents a bold adaptation of his bestseller, A Brief History of Time, in the witty and playful style that characterizes object theatre.

An inescapably complex material sits before our eyes,

elegantly unpacked with the aid of toys, puns and daring wit.
Justine De l’Église, Le Culte

In this dazzling one-woman show, the performer manages a hundred or so objects, plus sound and lights, to convey with wit and precision the great ideas that have shaped the history of modern science.

 

Aristotle, Galileo, Newton, Einstein and Hubble are thus sung, rapped, recounted and made relevant again in this play, which presents the story of science in a way you have never experienced it before! This is your chance to hope to understand (at last!) the theory of Relativity, the expansion of the Universe, and especially the meaning of the famous E=mc2 !

Antonia succeeds in entertaining the audience with a sense of humour that flirts between deep reflection and lightheartedness. Her discourse is a delightful path to follow, from the simplest to the most complex of ideas.

David Lefebvre, Montheatre.qc.ca

Created and performed by

Antonia Leney-Granger


Supported by

Francis Monty et Olivier Ducas, 
Théâtre de la Pire Espèce
Centre de création et diffusion Aux Écuries

Outreach activities

  • Preparatory workshop about our artistic process and intro to the scientific material considered in the show

  • Discussion or questions after a performance

  • Hands-on in-class workshop on object theatre or shadow puppetry

Antonia Leney-Granger is featured on Canada's Map for Arts and Learning.

15 Minutes of Quantum Physics

After the tremendous success of 15 Minutes of Quantum Physics at the 2018 Festival Ouf!, Léa Philippe and Antonia Leney-Granger are back with a new theory of quantum mechanics for object theatre! These internationally renowned puppeteers-scientists will do their utmost to recreate before you the mysteries of the infinitely small and the subatomic world.

To make their very scientific demonstrations, they use well-known games and toys, from Barbies to the Rubiks cube, as well as a giant Lite Brite game to depict the path of electrons! This energetic duo delivers an epic performance by multiplying examples, puns and physical games to share their infectious passion with us, all to a pop soundtrack ranging from Mario Kart to Crazy Frog! This is a wild and brilliant show you shall not soon forget!

© 2019 Théâtre du Renard

  • Twitter
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

Une brève histoire du temps

Inspirée par les travaux de l'astrophysicien et vulgarisateur scientifique Stephen Hawking, le Théâtre du Renard présente une adaptation déjantée de son livre phare, Une brève histoire du temps, dans l'esprit ludique qui caractérise le théâtre d'objets. 

Une matière complexe est devant nos yeux, décortiquée à l’aide de jouets, calembours et clins d’oeil des plus audacieux, avec beaucoup d’esprit.
Justine De l’Église, Le Culte

Seule en scène, une femme manipule une centaine d'objets, son et éclairage, illustrant avec humour et simplicité les grandes idées qui ont marqué l'histoire de la science moderne. Aristote, Galilée, Newton, Einstein et Hubble sont ainsi chantés, rappés, contés et actualisés dans ce spectacle qui aborde l'histoire des sciences comme jamais on ne vous l'a contée! C’est votre chance d’espérer comprendre (enfin !) la théorie de la Relativité, l’expansion de l’Univers, et surtout ce que veut dire le fameux E=mc2 !

Antonia réussit à amuser la galerie grâce à un humour flirtant entre le songé et la désinvolture. Son discours est un petit manège, allant du plus simple au plus complexe.

David Lefebvre, Montheatre.qc.ca

Texte, mise en scène et interprétation

Antonia Leney-Granger

 

Conception sonore

Antonia Leney-Granger et Marc-Antoine Cléroux

 

Mentorat artistique

Francis Monty et Olivier Ducas, 
Théâtre de la Pire Espèce
Centre de création et diffusion Aux Écuries

Activités de médiation

  • Ateliers préparatoires (théories scientifiques abordées, démarche, etc.)

  • Discussion ou période de questions après la représentation

  • Atelier pratique d'initiation au théâtre d'objets en classe.
     

Antonia Leney-Granger est Artiste à l'école.

15 minutes de physique quantique

Après le succès retentissant de 15 minutes de physique quantique lors du Festival OUF 2018, Léa Philippe et Antonia Leney-Granger du Théâtre du Renard récidivent en présentant une nouvelle théorie de la mécanique quantique en théâtre d’objets! Ces chercheures-marionnettistes de renommée internationale ne reculent devant rien pour recréer devant vous les mystères de l’infiniment petit et du monde subatomique.

Pour faire leurs démonstrations très scientifiques, elles utilisent des jeux et jouets bien connus, de la Barbie au cube Rubik, en passant par un Lite Brite géant pour représenter la trajectoire des électrons! Ce duo survolté livre une performance épique en multipliant les exemples, les calembours et les jeux physiques afin de nous partager leur passion contagieuse, le tout sur une trame musicale pop allant de Mario Kart à Crazy Frog! Voilà un spectacle brillant et déjanté, aussi bon pour la rate que pour les neurones!

© 2019 par Théâtre du Renard

  • Twitter
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon